Glenn Houston – Guitar

Michael Foley – Vocal/Guitar

  1. Something special . . . . . . . . . 5:10
  2. There’s a place . . . . . . . . . . . .5:15
  3. Half Moon Bay . . . . . . . . . . . . .2:57
  4. He wouldn’t listen, she wouldn’t say . . .5:30
  5. Stackolee . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4:04
  6. Missing you (Little rocks) . . . . . 3:40

All songs written by Michael Foley except Stackolee, traditional
All songs copyright Michael Foley 2001
Published by Maurice Buday music


Available at:






Foley first met Glenn Houston at Randy Rudd’s studio Emeryville Recording sometime in the 1980s. He was working on recording some music with bassist Pat Campbell and singer songwriter Patty Hennessey.  Also present was Chojo Jacques, legendary fiddle and mandolin player. He’d heard about Glenn and Chojo for years and even seen them perform with Ramblin’ Jack Elliot.  This was the first time he got to meet them.

Glenn, Chojo and Foley eventually formed a band with Peter Tucker and Paul Olguin called “Large and in the Way”.  Glenn and Chojo we’re well over 6 feet tall while Peter, Paul, and Foley were, let’s just say large, in the 300+ pound area.


Clockwise from top left: Chojo Jacques, Glenn Houston, Peter Tucker, Paul Olguin, Michael Foley

Foley remembers, ”The music was great, but for me, it was a tumultuous time in my life. Everyone put up with me as long as they could but eventually Chojo moved on and Glenn created the Houston Jones band with singer guitarist Travis Jones”.  The band traveled the country extensively, recorded several CDs, and lasted for nearly 15 years before Houston left the band.

The music for “UNPAINTED” was recorded in 1999. Houston and Foley had played around a little as a duet and Foley wanted to record some of the songs he written, plus Houston really liked Foley’s version of Stack O’ Lee, so Foley decided to put it on the recording  is well.

“Part of what I loved about playing with Glenn was that it was always just about the music. He’s a guitar master.  We never spent much time promoting ourselves other than to get in front of audiences that would like our music”.

Glenn Houston is still performing around the Bay Area, around California, and around the United States. Foley is working on overcoming his injuries and surgeries so he can perform again. Hopefully people will be able to see Houston Foley play a venue somewhere nearby in the future.  Foley’s album “Fear and Forgiveness” is available on the Apple music store.

Music from his band Life On Earth, which was recorded through the 1970s, will also be available soon as well as other recordings from his long and exciting life in music.  Stay tuned.